NYS Office of Mental Health (OMH)

Incident Management

All incidents require some level of investigation. The level of investigation and follow-up should be commensurate with the seriousness and circumstances associated with the incident. It is recommended that a Special Investigation be performed for designated serious incident categories. In addition, serious incidents that meet the criteria to be considered a Sentinel Event would require that a Root Cause Analysis (RCA) be completed in addition to a Special Investigation.

Please refer to the OMH 524 Regulations and Incident Management Field Guide (pdf) for guidance.

Documents and Guidelines

Tiered Certification Manual: Residential Programs For Adults November 1996 (pdf)

New Community Residence Program Model May 1984 (pdf)

Policy Statement Regarding Electronic Signatures September 2007

Supported Housing Guidelines

NYS Office of Medicaid Inspector General (OMIG)

NYS OMIG Website


NYS OMIG Audit Protocols – All Programs

NYS OMIG Audit Protocols – Community Rehabilitation Services for Adults (pdf)


Some providers of Medicaid care, services, or supplies may be required to complete one or both of the following certifications:

  • New York State Social Services Law Section 363-d and 18 NYCRR Part 521 Certification (SSL Certification)
  • Federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 (DRA) Certification

OMIG’s webinar demonstrates how to complete each certification.

Each certification is separate and has different obligations and criteria for its application. Please use the two links below to:

  • Get information on each certification
  • Determine if you are required to complete the certification(s)
  • Complete the certification(s)

Each certification can only be submitted electronically.

Federal Resources

US Federal Office of Inspector General



AND make a difference in the lives of people living with psychiatric disabilities

Scroll to Top